I am a Four Leaf Clover: Haiku of Alienation and Futility

3576168066_12272abb5d

I am Spiderman

I am a four leaf clover

I am all alone

<>

Put me in a box

To love me is to kill me

Preserve me for now

<>

I can do this job

Just turn off part of my brain

I can function well

<>

I look around me

They would burn me as a witch

If they only knew

<>

Alienation

All is just futility

Monotony rules

<>

It’s lonely on top

Of course, I’m at the bottom

It’s lonely here, too

<>

I went to college

I learned other people’s words

I was such a fool

<>

I don’t say the Pledge

I don’t owe an allegiance

to the flag or you

•(-<|:

You know the Ramones song “I’m Against It“? No? Well this daisy leads to a poem that’s kind of like that song, only devoid of the song’s lightness, humor, good nature & fun teenage aesthetic:

dasy

One Response to I am a Four Leaf Clover: Haiku of Alienation and Futility

  1. Norbert says:

    Hello, I enjoyed reading your poems, though I’m not sure it’s Haiku. :-P
    I often find four leaf clovers. I feed them to my Dog. Lol I was wondering if this is bad for his health. I saw him eating clovers before. Anyways, I found no answers here…. But I liked what I read anyway. Thanks.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,197 other followers

