Itch

Have you ever tried to not scratch an itch? I can’t do it – both literally and figuratively. I’ve never been able to resist. I keep testing myself. I’ll be walking the dog, feeling a little itch on the back of my neck. “I know it’s not a spider crawling on my neck. I know I can resist… it will subside….” But it doesn’t. It just grows & grows until I can’t take it and I have to scratch! I’m the same way with any craving.

A few days ago, I came across a recipe for chocolate fondue. I couldn’t interest anybody in the house in chocolate fondue. I tried to forget about it. Besides, I shouldn’t eat chocolate; it is a well established fact that my body has a very uncomfortable reaction to it. But I couldn’t get the idea out of my head. I was powerless to resist. So, today I made chocolate fondue & ate a huge bowl of it, with anything edible I could find to dip in it. I feel pretty bloated & horrible, but I had to do it. If I had held off longer, I would have just made more chocolate fondue & covered a chocolate cake in it & cut it open & filled it with a mixture of chocolate ice cream and chocolate whipped cream, with chocolate chunks on top. I would have carved spoons out of chocolate to eat it. You get the idea.

Push th’ little daisies and make ’em come up:

One Response to Itch

Leave a Reply

