Here is Something Strange

Actually, here are a few things strange:

“Insane Anglo Warlord” is an anagram for Ronald Wilson Reagan.

“He bugs Gore” is an anagram for George Bush (also “Be Gore’s ugh”).

The US Navy lists 234 instances that the United States has invaded, occupied, or otherwise sent troops into other countries other than for “normal peacetime purposes,” outside of the declared wars such as World War II. The list is only current to 1993 and does not include more recent military excursions.  It also does not include the numerous covert operations that the military has conducted worldwide. Nor does it include proxy wars such as Angola or the Soviet-Afghan war. The list includes over 63 countries, many of which the US has invaded two, three, or more times. US troops have been sent into Nicaragua at least 11 times, Mexico 12 times, and China 24 times.

When Condoleezza Rice became Bush’s foreign policy advisor, Chevron had already named an oil tanker after her.

Barack Obama is a distant cousin to George W. Bush (11th cousins). He is more closely related to his 7th or 8th cousin, Dick Cheney.

Do you have any strange facts to share? Feel free to add them to the comments section.

For more strange facts, click here.

37 Responses to Here is Something Strange

  1. Doreen Van Assen says:

    I have always wondered what Germany had to do with the desert storm war. My dad was sent to Germany by the government for like a month right at the ending of the war. All of his work is classified so I will probably never know. He came back with a lot of cool pictures though of like big ben, beautiful flowerful scenic views, cars, also a clock, beer stein, and some weird looking wooden candle holder that spins.

    Like

  2. […] Here is Something Strange […]

    Like

  3. Doreen Van Assen says:

    Something strange that happened to me once there was this onetime my bestfriend randomly asked me to guess what my mom’s cellphone bill is I shot back rather quickly 58 dollars and twentythree cents. It really freaked her out cuz i was exactly right. She accused me of opening her mail. It was weird cuz we both had the same cell plan cricket and ours had been like 78 dollars per month

    Like

  4. Doreen Van Assen says:

    something else about that best friend she had a grandfather that was a cook on a navy ship during world war 11 The only job offered to a black man in the navy at that time well his ship sunk and he was the only survivor of the ship imagine if he would of been the admiral. Reverend kirkendoll

    Like

  5. Doreen Van Assen says:

    nxt.legis.state.w1.us/../28697 I had the privilege once to have lived in his back house in 2005. In which I always called safe house in Hotsprings, Arkansas

    Like

  6. Doreen Van Assen says:

    He was like the best cook ever. The best were his salmon croquettes. I can still hear his sermon on Moses in my ears. I would drive Mr. and Mrs. Kirkendoll to church every sunday.

    Like

  7. Doreen Van Assen says:

    This is kinda strange I have a sister and two brothers that makes 6. my oldest brother whom is my mom’s natural son is 12 years older. When oldest brother went to kindergarten mom cried for another baby. Parents adopted my next brother while living in Hawawii. He is 6 years older Than meborn exactly on dad’s birthday july 10 When second child went to kindergarten mom cried for specifically baby girl. I was adopted in Phoenix 6 years later while mom was 6 months pregnant with my sister. continued to adopt me cuz she wanted specifically baby girl and back then you could not get ultrasound guarantee of girl I was born august 12 1970 sister born Valentine’s day the miracle love child 6 months later 1971. My parents anniversary is april 6. My entire life seems strange. My adopted brother never knew he was Dyslexic until college after marines. He was the first to graduate college bachelor of science then went on to x ray technician school. I kid you not I used to laugh at my markie because he did not know the months of the year or abc’S, my eldest brother went to navy to learn nuclear physicist partIed flunked out then trained to be a boiler operator little sister went to army to be linguist became discharged in boot camp because she was pregnant she went on to college for CAD she discontinued college without graduating and went to work designing cell phone towers currently job title project manager. Then me most think I am the youngest especially since I am short 5’2 sister tall 5’11. I was the last to get a profession in which I am an associate degree nurse

    Like

    • Doreen Van Assen says:

      each child was so magically desired as an infant then wanted traded for new model once kindergarten age then totally thrown out at graduation of highschool. I was the only sibling to choose not to go into the armed forces. on my high school graduation night I was thrown to the floor kicked by my father and told to get out of my house you lazy bum. How weird is that?

      Like

      • Doreen Van Assen says:

        father’s name is Andrew Michael Schreiner Jr. most people don’t know he was named after his father my dad has 12 siblings the youngest being twins my dad being the next to the youngest he not the oldest child the one you would expect to be jr. anyway this is weird my mom is the oldest of twins and another younger. my mom’s middle name is her father’s first name Fay Maurice Baugh Twin sisters name is kay janice baugh

        Like

        • Doreen Van Assen says:

          The weirdness continues maternal grandpa maurice devane baugh- mom fay maurice baugh- my eldest brother not a jr the 2nd like you would think but daniel maurice Schreiner

          Like

          • l0oree says:

            Just another weird thing the meaning of the name maurice is dark skinned.

            Like

          • l0oree says:

            The darkskinned part is weird cuz my mom so white she is as close to albino you can get without the red eyes. But there was this one time when she was about to slap me her eyes did glow red.

            Like

  8. Doreen Van Assen says:

    I am wondering if I am the only one with strangeness? To be different is to be morally correct most of the time/politically incorrect by your definition of political most of the time this makes me smile so much on the inside that it shines to the outside.

    Like

  9. Doreen Van Assen says:

    This is strange I was once nol prosecuted by request of the officer on plea day. Is that legal shouldn’t I have a legal right to plead guilty or not guilty if I want? Has had me so confused right after it happened I went to plasma donation headquarters to make the money to obtain the copies.

    Like

  10. Doreen Van Assen says:

    more family strangeness my maternal great grandfather Stanley was sheriff of pine bluff, arkansas and also pulled teeth. When he died trunk load of confederate money was found in his house. ?

    Like

  11. Doreen Van Assen says:

    My mom attended little rock central high school during the first school Imigration you might remember this the national guard was actually there to keep the peace. I am so ashamed my mom was not on the civil side of the ordeal. She was on the uncivil side. During nursing school I lived in a duplex on section 8 housing Next door to my best friend more like sisters and my witness to a lot of strangeness. Juanita J Kirkendoll “Niecy” she has the exact same name as her maternal grandmother looks just like her to me too. She had one brother deceased and another brother named Michael “Phoo”Hart mothers name Dianna Hart. I love those Peeps like they are my real family.

    Like

  12. Doreen Van Assen says:

    I was baptized two years ago at Mt Zion Missionary Baptist Church 2 Years ago Star City Arkansas then the next morning I was in a head on collision with an eighteen wheeler. Car was smashed all I had was a few bruises and a small scar on my foot shaped like an angel. The officer at the scene of the accident said this was the first wreck he had ever seen like this that did not require the jaws of life to remove them from the car. I am so blessed. 🙂

    Like

  13. Doreen Van Assen says:

    I am so very blessed my biological family came to america right before the great depression very lucky same year Imigration laws were tightened 1924.

    Like

  14. Doreen Van Assen says:

    My biological mom whom I have never talked to must be extremely wise. I am half mexican paternal and mom is dutch she gave me away at birth in Arizona so most people think of me as an illlegal immigrant’s baby with a chance of a better life. This is so not the scenario.

    Like

  15. Doreen Van Assen says:

    Rumor has it through my adoptive mom that my biological mom was crazy and had all her children taken away by the state. Rumor has it by a distant blood relative my biological mom was raped had me and became emotionally unbalanced. Its a mystery. Rumor by my adoptive mom is that my biological mom had another child that her parents raised until two years old then gave up for adoption and my biological father had six other children besides me abandoned and unable to locate the father. I tend to believe that because the adoption process you have to have agreement from the father and try to locate them etc.

    Like

  16. […] while your country, Iran, has not invaded anyone in the last 2,000 years, the United States has invaded more countries in its brief history than any other nation in the history of […]

    Like

  17. […] Actually, here are a few things strange: "Insane Anglo Warlord" is an anagram for Ronald Wilson Reagan. "He bugs Gore" is an anagram for George Bush (also "Be Gore's ugh"). The US Navy lists 234 instances that the United States has invaded, occupied, or otherwise sent troops into other countries other than for "normal peacetime purposes," outside of the declared wars such as World War II. The list is only current to 1993 and does not include more … Read More […]

    Like

  18. l0oree says:

    This is strange at age 30 I scored 99 out of possible 100 on english compass test 🙂 I was way scared then cuz what if my college professor saw my college entrance test score? Would she expect more out of me? All my papers written day before due. Made a on everyone. With even a red mark that said good metaphor. I kinda felt a little guilt when i would just glance at other papers and see red marks all up and down the page with grade of c. I felt so saddened I would Hurry up and hide my paper like everyone else. I did not want the other students to know I was good at writing.

    Like

  19. l0oree says:

    When it came time for english comp two I made f cuz I had to drop all classes that semester because son got flu for the first time and could not in to school. Well when time came for me to fasttrack associate degree program i had to complete 3 prerequisite during first summer semester plus a prereq to a prereq to be accepted in the Best nursing program in the state and ranked third in the nation. I did that while working full time night shift paying for books and tuition out of pocket. I took the clep test for the english comp two. Took chemistry the prereq for microbiology at the same time in which i could only afford to buy the lab manual. And a professor stating over and over her class was impossible to pass without a textbook. I was always ducking my arms over my desk hoping the kind doctor would never notice me without the text. I passed with b. Her test were the trickeryest ones I have ever seen in my life. choices would be a).. b)…c)… a&c)…b&c)…all the above)…none of the above When professor handed me my final grade of b for that class I took HT home and framed it.

    Like

  20. l0oree says:

    The prerequisites to nursing school are the easy part. Can you imagine what med surg nursing is like to deal with in only a short second summer semester doing clinical twice a week at one of the Best schools while working full time nightshift? If they had not been the short summer semesters no way physically I could of kept going. Isn’t funny strange how life just falls into place?

    Like

  21. l0oree says:

    When a nursing program is ranked top of the list it means the program has a 100% pass rate on state boards to actually get the license. So if you make it through the program its most guaranteed success and you did not waste your time and money.

    Like

  22. l0oree says:

    There are way more peeps flunking out the top schools than passing the bottom schools. But less nurses made at the ones most passed.

    Like

  23. l0oree says:

    More strangeness I once went to jail for a week for using the name Doreen Van Assen the name my birth mother gave me on my adoption paper. Well when time came for me to see the judge I said two things my name is Doreen Van Assen and my Mother’s name is Tillora Henrietta Van Assen. The judge told me I could use that name anytime I wanted from then on. Also why I was in jail I almost died. They put some crazy chick in the small holding cell with me. She grabbed my skull and beat it on the pavement. My head was the shape of a football. When the two weeks were up I had blackened eyes still. I bled a huge puddle of blood.

    Like

  24. […] while your country, Iran, has not invaded anyone in the last 2,000 years, the United States has invaded more countries in its brief history than any other nation in the history of […]

    Like

  25. Thanks for linking me over here! I love your collections of facts! In the “political vein,” I came up, a couple of weeks ago, with an amazing list of “k” words that relate to the government. You might enjoy increasing your vocabulary that way – especially in election year!

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/wednesdays-word-and-picture-19/

    That is followed up the next day with some definitions:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/theme-less-thursday-5/

    Love your blog – I’ll be back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

