Status Update

Typically, Daisybrain posts aren’t personal in nature; they usually consist of my examinations of oddities of English or my correspondence with African email scammers. But tonight, I am sharing something about my life at this moment.

I am in Hawaii on a video shoot. I have been hired to make a documentary about the Neuter Scooter, a veterinarian and her family who travel the United States spaying and neutering cats for cheap. I have been filming on the islands of Maui and Hawaii. It turns out that Hawaii has an enormous stray cat problem. There are thousands upon thousands of feral cats inhabiting these islands. There are also groups of dedicated volunteers who take care of these cat colonies; they feed the cats and trap them to have them spayed and neutered.

I have seen the cats everywhere I go – in shopping center parking lots, hotel grounds, national parks…. Some I can identify as cats that are being taken care of by volunteers, others appear to be on their own.

Right now my family, also on the trip with me, are all asleep. It’s 10:40pm Hawaii time, but that’s 4:40am our time. Early tomorrow morning, I’ll drive a couple of hours to the next Neuter Scooter clinic, where Dr. Peavy will spay and neuter another hundred or so feral cats. Volunteers will give the cats vaccinations, clean their ears, give them identifying tattoos, clip their ears to signify that they have been spayed or neutered, and even inject microchips into their skin so that shelters and vets will know where the cats came from if they are captured again. It’s a huge amount of work, but the feline overpopulation problem is overwhelming here, and these people do what they can.

So, that’s why I haven’t been quite as conscientious about posting to this blog as usual. I have lots of blog post ideas waiting to be unleashed why I get home in a week. Until then, please enjoy old, only slightly stale posts available from my INDEX, and as they say in Hawaii aloha and mahalo.

2 Responses to Status Update

  1. Editor B says:

    That is so awesome. I was just listening to “Pakalolo” by the Makaha Sons of Ni`ihau this morning and dreaming of visiting Hawaii again.

    Like

    • EricIndiana says:

      We should have a mass exodus to Hawai’i. The town of Paia in Maui is a cool hippy town with vegetarian/organic/hemp everything. It would be a good place to live.

      Like

Leave a Reply

