(Daisy) Brain Experiment Intro.

As usual, I feel a compelling urge to blog without enough “curious thoughts and observations” to blog about. I have a few posts started – a post of improved words, like “Slackadaisical” instead of “Lackadaisical.” For another post, I’ve been mulling over the idea that culture would come to a standstill if we cured mental illness – the implication that some people have to suffer through personally debilitating conditions in order for the culture as a whole to advance in any interesting ways. I have also started compiling a list of funny headlines about Rick Santorum. Here’s what I have so far on that front:

Is the internet definition of Santorum subconsciously affecting news editors? Take a look at these actual headlines:

    • Santorum Surges (just about every news source leading up to the Iowa caucus)
    • Santorum unloads on the stump  (Washington Post)
    • Santorum Runs Hard and Long (Demoines Register)

But as I searched the internet, I soon realized that others have already noticed the humor in these Santorum headlines and it feels a somewhat pointless to continue. So, I’m a bit stuck.

That beings us to my brain experiment. What if I did everything I could think of to enhance  my cognitive abilities – the proper amount of sleep, no sweets (they seem to make me spacey), and various drugs. I’m not talking about illegal & dangerous drugs, because they’re, well, illegal & dangerous. I’m talking about traditional herbs & potions that are supposed to help your brain function. If I super-dosed on natural brain enhancing treatments, would a brilliant post emerge from the heretofore untapped creative recesses of my mind? Let’s find out. Here is the regimen:

Tonight:

  • Play a round of brain-exercising games from the site Lumosity
  • Drink ginko biloba tea and consume the following supplements which I found whilst rummaging about through my kitchen cabinets:
    • “Brain & Memory Tonic” extract (again, ginko, plus gotu kola, rosemary & sage)
    • “Mind Force,” made from mushrooms that are supposed to be good for your brain
    • “Will Power” pills made of herbs I’ve never heard of, like polygala root and asparaus root
    • Something called “Diamond Mind” extract, whose label is too worn and the words too tiny for me to read
    • ginko biloba extract both in capsule and tablet form
  • Get plenty of sleep

Now, I can just hear the comments from my medically-inclined readers warning people not to consume everything they find in health food stores that have the word “brain” in their labels. But this is an experiment and, in any case, these supplements all have really tiny amounts of actual herbs in them. If nothing else, I may get a good placebo kick out of taking them all.

The idea is that my subconscious will work on a blog post while I sleep. Then, tomorrow, I shall exercise in the morning, eat a light, obnoxiously nutritious breakfast, take all of these supplements again, with more ginko tea, and commence to write the greatest prose ever to emerge from my mind or for the collective unconscious of all of humanity.

So that’s the plan. Tune in tomorrow night (Sunday, January 8th) or later to see the results, if any.

The brain experiments continue beyond this flower:
dasy
7 Responses to (Daisy) Brain Experiment Intro.

  1. l0oree says:

    Thankyou Daisy Brain for somehow reading your thoughts I realize at times I am not alone.

    If I could rename blogging I would name it “genius meets talent” which is my son’s blog name. The reason because communication is the key to sharing new ideas and the only way to implement them is to communicate them. The new idea is hard to explain due to it is new to even the first person that thought of the idea. This causes confusion mistrust and resistance to try the new idea due to the idea maker has a hard time putting it in words yet. I recently learned that this is the main way that I myself learn new things. I am the most a verbal learner. A 9 on a 1/10 scale verbal. This at times causes others to get annoyed with me, ignore me, or think I am crazy or stupid when in fact I am learning more than they might ever realize at the time that they are thinking I am the dumbest. This perspective that others have had of me throughout my lifetime has caused me to revert even further keeping new ideas and thoughts to myself and become a loner. I learn mostly all alone. Yes never a study partner in my lifetime. Possibly all started as a child mom never answered not one question with a real answer. Always because I said so or go look it up or go on I do not have time. Anyways back to the future, …….. this perspective of me by others ultimately makes me accept others and adapt to change easily. I believe that accepting diversity increases intelligence greatly. If you see me talking out loud, it is my genius talking to my talent. The communication is going on inside my brain. It leaks out sometimes when I least expect it.

    Up date I am now starting bachelors of business, and bachelors of nursing. Then masters of business. Then – By that time I will have six degrees, 20 different job experiences. 28 years of employment history and possibly plenty of time to spend writing……….my dream of becoming a writer……………Always been my dream job to sit and write making beacoo money looking out the big glass window overlooking the sunset over the ocean while all my friends/family are doing what they love in my 500,000 square foot home. Yep a pencil pusher with a pention of enjoyable future…….:))))))

    Like

  2. l0oree says:

    oops before the masters of business is the masters of nursing…

    Like

  3. Samir Hafza says:

    Hi.

    This “medically inclined” reader has a problem with herbs being purported as harmless just because they’re herbs. The medical literature is replete with cases and studies showing dangerous drug-herb interactions. Also, it is a mistake to assume that herbs in “really tiny amounts” would not trigger unwanted side effects and/or drug interactions.

    Herbal products, such as Echinacea, Ginkgo biloba, Ginseng, St. John’s Wort, garlic, etc.can cause high blood concentrations of some drugs leading to toxicities, or low blood concentrations of others leading to sub-optimal results. We see these dangers in special populations, such as HIV and cancer patients. These people are especially drawn to those “wellness” products, because of the power of advertisements in the States, and the power of Senator Orrin Hatch, who succeeded to protect the herbs from being medically and legally scrutinized by the FDA, leaving the immense task of educating on the shoulders of medical practitioners. Often times I am embarrassed to have to answer to my Médecins Sans Frontières colleagues, who I know would be laughing up their sleeve, about yet another medical claim made by another American “vitamin/health company.”

    Then the onus would be on the FDA to dispel the myths, which could take many years and dollars, after the “vitamin/health” company has pocketed millions in profits.

    Many parents have cried “How many times do I have to tell you?” at their young children when trying to get their attention or emphasize specific behaviors. Now, pharmacists and other medical practitioners are beginning to feel like these parents: “How many times do we have to tell you that Ginkgo biloba is not all it’s cracked up to be?”

    “Yet another study in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) reports that Gingko biloba is not effective in preventing cognitive decline in older adults, but people continue to take it in astounding numbers.”

    I hope you had a healthy, balanced dinner and good night sleep last night. Coz that’s all you need for an awesome, inspirational blog.

    Or, you can send us all (your readers) MDMA tablets (ecstasy pills), and then whatever you write will be the greatest prose of all. 😉

    Like

    • EricIndiana says:

      I admit that I was thinking of you Samir, when I referred to my “medically inclined” readers. I was waiting for your response! I remember that disappointing report about ginko – I stopped taking ginko pills after I read about it. I just wanted to assure everyone that before I try any herbs I look for any articles that hint of any harmful side-effects. I haven’t found any for the herbs that I’m taking.

      Like

  4. […] previously discussed, I am in the midst of a brain experiment. I have been at a creative impasse in my blogging. And so, […]

    Like

  5. […] results of the Great (Daisy) Brain Experiment (see previous two posts) are in. No brilliant post topics came to mind. And so, I bring you a post largely written before […]

    Like

  6. […] to see if I could produce more inspired blogging through brain-enhancing foods and supplements. My first attempt involved ingesting every natural brain enhancer I had collected over the years in my vitamin […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

