Flashback: a 100 word Story

Flashback*

200 feet seems a short distance to fall to one’s death. As time slows down, flickering, blue images fill my vision:

Andy Griffith. Oh, that Barney! Dick Van Dyke, Mary Tyler Moore, All in the Family, Star Trek, Pacman, Asteroids, Angry Birds. Oh God, I spent my whole life watching other peoples’ entertainment. There’s a loud snap, a brilliant white flash of light, and I am no longer I. I am absorbed into the Earth’s energy field. The next moment, for about 1/10 of a second, the TV reception in a ½ mile radius surrounding me will be remarkably clear.

Click the flower’s belly for some even shorter writing: dasy

*This is the 100 word version of Flshback. Previously, this post contained a slightly longer version. Contact me if you’d like to see it.

6 Responses to Flashback: a 100 word Story

  1. Editor B says:

    I enjoyed this. Great message in a compact package.

    Like

  2. joberry4 says:

    Very good – I find myself quoting as many TV characters as writers lately – bit scary 🙂

    Like

  3. joberry4 says:

    Read your self-description & I’m intrigued by the concept of institutionalised non-violence – my method is to try and instil positive peer-pressure – it’s effective, but a lot of very hard work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

