Playground Poetry

swing

Red and Pink Dots

The playgrounds are filled with vibrating red and pink dots

The red dots act out football and soccer

The pink dots act out tetherball and drama

The red dots act out war

The pink dots act out peace

The red dots act out death

The pink dots act out life

The playgrounds are filled with vibrating red and pink dots.

Concerned Teacher Magnet

I’m just going to sit here on this bench, on the edge of the playground, and ┬áread this book

No, there’s nothing wrong with me

Yes, I’m alright.

No, I don’t want to play that game

Yes, I like to read

What am I reading? Here’s the title

Yes, it’s a good book

Yes, I like to read

Correction: I’m just going to sit here on this bench, on the edge of this playground, and answer questions

Why did I ever think I could get away with reading ?

Kaitlynne is in charge of teatherball

Kaitlynne is in charge of teatherball

Sam is in charge of four square

Joe and Joey and both in charge of kickball

Kaitlynne tries her best to be fair

Sam always tries to include people standing on the edges

Joe and Joey want to always be on the winning team.

That’s just how it is.

That’s how it’s been since the dawn of time.

And it will never change.

So if you’re new and not great at kickball,

you should try four square first

and then move up to tetherball

But the line is long.

Medical Emergency

Chelsea hurt her arm when Eric cut her in line and hit her with the tetherball

The four of us are taking her to the nurse.

Here are some actual things actual kids actually said to me in actual classrooms, actually:

dasy

Leave a Reply

