erased: poems on life and death

Pencil-with-eraser

erased

Sometimes people get erased

You can see the smudges of where they used to be

But they’re not on the current page with you

child replaced

One day your child will be gone

And they’ll give you a replacement

But it won’t be the same

This new one will be a person

a few short years

Again! Again! Again! Again! Again!

to

Stop it Dad, you’re embarrassing me

in a few short years

that moment

Lightness and darkness

I keep thinking of that moment that was good between us

I’m glad we had that moment before you were taken

I want you to know that I love you

But why would you be hanging around just to hear that?

You’ve got better places to go to

Or no place at all

sometimes I just wanna change the world around.

I keep hearing that refrain:

Sometimes I just wanna change the world around

I used to have a list of songs that expressed it all

It was a music window and I looked through it constantly

like repeating a mantra

It made everything into a story

And that helped me

Because stories make sense

But it always ended with the same song…

Sometimes I just wanna change the world around.

Here are some poems about being a teen in the teen decade:

dasy

Leave a Reply

