It was chocolate and it was all I needed.

The following prompt was given to me by Kim Gifford, a writing teacher in White River Junction, Vermont.

Prompt: The 2015 Grammy Song of the Year was Stay with Me, by Sam Smith. Write a piece based on these lyrics: “Won’t you stay with me, because you’re all I need.”

It was chocolate and it was all I needed. But what’s the point of something after you’ve consumed it? I knew full well that the chocolate would be with me for ever – I would incorporate it into my body. But then, it would no longer be chocolate, would it? My body would process and expel parts of it; other parts would be broken down to their constituent bits and perhaps some of its molecules would end up part of my spleen. That’s no life for a good chocolate bar.

And this was a very good chocolate bar. The best. Made by hand from raw, organic, single origin, Fair Trade chocolate. You couldn’t get more positive chocolate karma if you employed disabled, homeless vets to plant the chocolate, as recuperative therapy for PTSD, on a solar powered farm and recycling center made from converting an old missile factory into a free school and environmental learning community that taught conflict resolution and love to war orphans. This chocolate was that good.

But was the chocolate not made to be eaten? Was it not the nature of chocolate, the purpose of its very existence to taste good going down? Hell no! That’s like saying that the purpose of morning dove is to be eaten by a hawk. That very well might be the fate of that dove, but it was created to be its glorious self; its value came not from being eaten, but from being.

In any case, I had long since gobbled down the chocolate before I reasoned all of this out. I mean, it was chocolate, after all, and regardless of its inherent self-value and nature, it was my nature, just like the hawk with the dove, to eat chocolate. At least I can honestly say that when my teeth bit into it, all I was thinking was, “You’re all I need.” And at that moment, it was true.

Look! this flower leads to more chocolate writing:

dasy1

Leave a Reply

