Four Poems that Begin with the Line, “Between Earth and Sky am I”

1.

Between Earth and Sky

Am I

Bandied about by grand forces of nature

Stay rooted

Bend don’t break

Bend don’t break

2.

Between Earth and Sky

Am I

Never figured out my place

Not a member of the human race

Can’t navigate this terrain

There’s something wrong with my brain

Looking in from outside

Didn’t know I was meant to hide

Not part of a generation

Don’t know how to get a vocation

I slipped between the cracks of time

I saw the reason but not the rhyme

Standing there but not connected

In a crowd but undetected

Sandwiched between Earth and Sky

Don’t know how to live or die

3.

Between Earth and Sky

Am I

Breathing life into dirt

Holding together the Universe

The mind of God

There is no one to remember me

There is only me

At this moment

And then someone else

4.

Between Earth and Sky

Am I

How is it that I’m thinking?

How much of me is me?

And how can there be no me?

These first questions came from me

Then I had a nightmare

A long imagined dream

It’s a very strange thing to be killed by your own species

If you would like to read more of my poems, click Daisy #1; if you would like to read something completely different, click Daisy #2.

dasy1

Daisy #1

dasy1

Daisy #2

Leave a Reply

